Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
Three Things: Fanatics in Ticketing - Cut Bait Quickly on Bad Books! - Just leave, they don't care like we do
0:00
-3:31

Three Things: Fanatics in Ticketing - Cut Bait Quickly on Bad Books! - Just leave, they don't care like we do

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech and Live Events: 1) Fanatics announced their big new war chest this week and rumor is they're looking to buy a ticketing company by end of Q3 with Seat Geek a target. Who knows if it's true, but if Seat Geek is next in line for the unrenewed StubHub deal, things will get interesting in ticketing quick. Omnichannel isn't a new idea, it is just finally maturing industries already are as per caps expand with gambling, NFT's and more. The game is no longer in the entertainment district - it's everywhere. 2) Be willing to cut bait. Especially with Conferences, books, jobs and classes. Back in the early 00's at AEG our boss took us to the Burbank Marriott for sales training. It was a hike from downtown LA and required us staying late. Once we got there, the content was awful. But how he handled it taught me a lot. Instead of making us sit through it, he apologized halfway through and encouraged us to leave to "save what's left of our Thursday night." It doesn't sound like much, but most bosses I've had would have made us sit through the end. We do book reports at TicketManager and it surprises me how many people will stick with a book they don't like just because they started it. I see the same at conferences, where we see people hanging out with their friends, who they can call and see anytime, and skipping the content while they 'stay to the end.' If the conference isn't worth the time - leave. Life's too short....move on. 3) The world don't miss ya like you miss it. When I quit my job at AEG after about 3 years, it was a big deal to me. I was 24 and 3 years was the majority of my working life. And I was the #1 rep! Nobody cared. As they shouldn't have, I was a small fish there for a cup of coffee. Ten people were behind me ready to take the top spot. Learned that lesson first hand. Saw it again, much more powerfully, when reading "Tuesdays With Morrie." I've watched countless professionals leave a gig thinking the place would crumble without them only to be forgotten within minutes. World keeps spinning - and that’s terrific news. The sooner we recognize, the more we can understand where we are on in our organization's eyes and the more lasting good we can do at each stop. In the end, our goal should be to build a place and a team we can leave without it falling apart.

Discussion about this podcast

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The Three Things I've Learned in sports, tech and live events is the podcast for entrepreneurs in software as a service, technology, sports business and sponsorships professionals.
My name is Tony Knopp and I've been working in Saas, tech, sports and live events for just over 20 years now where I've been surrounded by super impressive people who have taught us quite a bit and invested in us as we make mistakes and iterate in tech, sports and live events.
Each week, we share what we learned either this week or from our twenty years at the Dodgers, LA Kings, AEG, StubHub's very early days and here at TicketManager where we've exited multiple businesses.
We hope you enjoy our insights and those of our guests!