Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The best advice I ever ignored and why it cost us money - Each early hire is the equivalent of 20 people - Building a rolodex's biggest mistak
0:00
-2:27

The best advice I ever ignored and why it cost us money - Each early hire is the equivalent of 20 people - Building a rolodex's biggest mistak

1. The best advice seems so obvious it is easy to miss. I blew off so much good advice as too simple in the early days. Youthful ignorance which cost us money. It isn't nefarious - I was focused on the trains leaving on time and "grinding." In reality, I thought I was the exception, like we all do. There is so much nuance to the obvious. If we don't pay attention, we may miss it. 2. Early hires matter so much more than I knew. We're in a hurry and we need to staff up to meet demand. Slow down. Treat every early teammate like twenty teammates - because that is a conservative number of how many a good hire will impact as you grow. Take your time and never ever settle- especially in the first hires after each round. 3. Keep in touch. A huge regret. Along the way, through all the raises, shows, and conferences, I met a lot of people who I did a poor job of keeping up with. Again, too focused on the here and now. Costly. Our company really could have benefited by me doing a better job of staying in touch with all the panelists and stars I met in the early days.

Discussion about this podcast

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The Three Things I've Learned in sports, tech and live events is the podcast for entrepreneurs in software as a service, technology, sports business and sponsorships professionals.
My name is Tony Knopp and I've been working in Saas, tech, sports and live events for just over 20 years now where I've been surrounded by super impressive people who have taught us quite a bit and invested in us as we make mistakes and iterate in tech, sports and live events.
Each week, we share what we learned either this week or from our twenty years at the Dodgers, LA Kings, AEG, StubHub's very early days and here at TicketManager where we've exited multiple businesses.
We hope you enjoy our insights and those of our guests!