Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The First RFP: When it got really real...
0:00
-5:24

The First RFP: When it got really real...

Three Things I Learned in Saas, Sports Tech & Live Events The first RFP win...when it got really real. In 2008, when business was tough, we got our first RFP....and won! It changed our lives. Here's what we learned in winning our first SaaS RFP 1. Authenticity is your only differentiator. I told the truth. That simple. These other companies are bigger, more powerful and your team will find them the safe choice. But you're all I've got. Here's my cell phone. Call it anytime. Still goes today for all our customers. And she does still call our mobile phones, which is welcomed with a smile. 2. Pick the right customers to take a chance on. In enterprise SaaS, everything you do at the beginning matters tenfold. This customer had the right vision. They had similar ideas and we honestly aligned. The wrong first customer will destroy your roadmap and cost you millions. First customers set the future. Pick wisely. 3. Welcome the hate. Once you win, the incumbents will ratchet up their vitriol. Some won't, but most will. They will denounce you. Recruit your people. Threaten you with lawsuits. Try to undercut every customer. This is good. You've got their attention. The more they focus on you, the less they're focusing on the customer.

Discussion about this podcast

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The Three Things I've Learned in sports, tech and live events is the podcast for entrepreneurs in software as a service, technology, sports business and sponsorships professionals.
My name is Tony Knopp and I've been working in Saas, tech, sports and live events for just over 20 years now where I've been surrounded by super impressive people who have taught us quite a bit and invested in us as we make mistakes and iterate in tech, sports and live events.
Each week, we share what we learned either this week or from our twenty years at the Dodgers, LA Kings, AEG, StubHub's very early days and here at TicketManager where we've exited multiple businesses.
We hope you enjoy our insights and those of our guests!