Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
Three Things: Always Go! - Fun can't be mandatory - Stress during the boom times
0:00
-3:37

Three Things: Always Go! - Fun can't be mandatory - Stress during the boom times

Three Things I Learned This Week In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events: 1. Go. Years ago I met a talent exec who was relentlessly persistent while being respectful. He'd say to new connects "what time do you eat breakfast? No added time for you. I'll be at your table at 6am for 10 min." or "I'll meet you when you get off the subway and walk with you to work He's still a friend I refer people to today. The world is re-starting and, in our current experience, people want to meet. Maybe not at the office, but nearby where they work. We signed one of our biggest deals when we simply showed up at the office after the CEO of the company cancelled. If they wouldn't see us, that would have been fine. Instead, the CSO did have time for us and respected the hustle. They're a close friend to this day. 2. Mandatory fun at work can actually do more harm than good when incorrectly applied per Katy Milkman in "How to Change." To copy a great idea, we have to study and understand the 5 w's of the original idea and all of the nuance. Otherwise, what looks like a great idea can ruin your business. Gladwell points out a similar scenario in Talking to Strangers which led to tragedy as police departments in Texas attempted to copy the Kansas City Preventative Patrol experiment without understanding all of the necessary nuance. We used to mandate group gatherings post company meetings and activities. Big mistake. It led to resentment and complaining. If they want to play the game, encourage it! But if they don't and they're performing, let em opt out. 3. The two most stressful times as an entrepreneur? 1) When you're close to zero and 2) When you're wildly successfully blowing out numbers. It's a strange feeling. As one of my co-founders reassured me often in the early years as things started to go well: "We're going to have problems all the time. I'd prefer the good ones." Me too. Just know it's normal and healthy to feel uneasy as things start to take off.

Discussion about this podcast

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The Three Things I've Learned in sports, tech and live events is the podcast for entrepreneurs in software as a service, technology, sports business and sponsorships professionals.
My name is Tony Knopp and I've been working in Saas, tech, sports and live events for just over 20 years now where I've been surrounded by super impressive people who have taught us quite a bit and invested in us as we make mistakes and iterate in tech, sports and live events.
Each week, we share what we learned either this week or from our twenty years at the Dodgers, LA Kings, AEG, StubHub's very early days and here at TicketManager where we've exited multiple businesses.
We hope you enjoy our insights and those of our guests!