Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
Three Things: Lying in job interviews, Tom Brady on winning today, Make the best of the inevitable bad choices
0:00
-3:58

Three Things: Lying in job interviews, Tom Brady on winning today, Make the best of the inevitable bad choices

1. Don't lie in an interview. Ever. Like volunteering when it's been 4 years, saying you played football at a local college, you were "top 3" on the sales standings or that you currently have a VP of sales gig and live in the city when you were terminated 8 months prior for getting trashed on a company booze cruise and have been living on mom's couch in jersey (none of those things are bad or disqualifying. Lying though? That is). So how to spot the liars? You can't call their current employer. But you CAN once they start with you. And it's worth it. Can't have dishonesty on the team. It's a killer. 2. What happens outside our walls impacts what happens inside our walls. And we must be aware of how we can use it. Great quote by Tom Brady: “Life,” Brady said, “is about always changing and adapting to different things. Today, the world wants to blame, and shame, and guilt, and fear everything all the time. We would never teach our kids that, you know? We would never say, ‘This is how you’re gonna get through life the best—you’re gonna blame everyone when things don’t go right.’ Or, ‘I always get it my way but you should never get it your way.’ It’s not how to live a joyful life." Interview is worth all of our time- linked in the comments 3. Make the best of bad choices. Six months ago I heard screaming from upstairs. Preparing for the worst I ran in to find our youngest daughter had cut her own hair. The morning after the madness, I asked her why. "I wanted to put it on my unicorns to make them beautiful." Mom, understandably, threw the hair away the night prior. I fished it out, found some tape and here we are 6 months later. Bad judgement happens at your company. Embrace the good in it while using the bad to grow together.

Discussion about this podcast

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The Three Things I've Learned in sports, tech and live events is the podcast for entrepreneurs in software as a service, technology, sports business and sponsorships professionals.
My name is Tony Knopp and I've been working in Saas, tech, sports and live events for just over 20 years now where I've been surrounded by super impressive people who have taught us quite a bit and invested in us as we make mistakes and iterate in tech, sports and live events.
Each week, we share what we learned either this week or from our twenty years at the Dodgers, LA Kings, AEG, StubHub's very early days and here at TicketManager where we've exited multiple businesses.
We hope you enjoy our insights and those of our guests!