Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
We are not our jobs and how identity can wreck havoc on founders - Respect the customer's process in sales - Never root for a candidate
0:00
-3:30

We are not our jobs and how identity can wreck havoc on founders - Respect the customer's process in sales - Never root for a candidate

1. Our job is not our identity. I played volleyball at a very high level growing up- for Nike, then USC and the U20 US National team. So did my sisters. The whole time, my dad would tell us "You are not a volleyball player. That is not your identity, it is something you do." His wisdom was lost on me but I listened. And it made my transition so much smoother than my teammates. I fell into that trap again the early years of TicketManager - thinking failure would define me b/c TicketManager was my identity. Avoid my mistake. And drop "what do you do" as an early question =) 

2. The generic inbox is not a waste of time. For a salesperson, hearing "please email 'suppliers@acme.com' or the 'supplier portal' is a blow off…most of the time. Two of our earliest customers, both Fortune 50 companies, came from the generic inbox. One of which I had forgotten I filled out two years earlier. They signed on to become our biggest customer at the time. 

3. Many great teammates genuinely care about others. It can expose a dangerous hiring flaw: They root for candidates. They're optimistic and want others to be successful. Unfortunately, great people can't save everyone. They have to focus on what drives the best results. A simple rule: if you find yourself rooting for a candidate, time to take a step back and ask: am I confident with the ball in their hands?

Discussion about this podcast

Three Things I Learned In Saas, Sports, Tech & Live Events
Three Things I Learned In SaaS, Sports, Tech & Live Events Podcast
The Three Things I've Learned in sports, tech and live events is the podcast for entrepreneurs in software as a service, technology, sports business and sponsorships professionals.
My name is Tony Knopp and I've been working in Saas, tech, sports and live events for just over 20 years now where I've been surrounded by super impressive people who have taught us quite a bit and invested in us as we make mistakes and iterate in tech, sports and live events.
Each week, we share what we learned either this week or from our twenty years at the Dodgers, LA Kings, AEG, StubHub's very early days and here at TicketManager where we've exited multiple businesses.
We hope you enjoy our insights and those of our guests!